Giveaways

Book Review and Giveaway: One Good Dog by Susan Wilson

OneGoodDog

Today’s review is about a book with a d-o-g in it, but thankfully, Amber allows me to read them every one in a while.  I would have hated to miss One Good Dog.  In the tradition of Marley and Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is a moving book about how a dog changes a human’s life for the better.

Adam March, a ruthless, self-made Boston millionnaire seems to have it all, living a picture perfect life, surrounded by wealth and privilege.   Then, in one instant, all of that changes, and he finds himself alone, unemployed, and doing community service in a homeless shelter.  Chance, a pit bull mix bred as a fighting dog, living in a dark and vicious world, takes a random moment to escape from his captors.  Human and dog come together, and as One Good Dog unfolds, both fight for a chance at a new life.  This is a tale of love, loyalty, new discoveries, and redemption, told from the point of view of Adam March, but also from the point of view of Chance, the former fighting dog.

Wilson masterfully lets Chance tell the story in his own words.  Some of the passages describing his fighting life are disturbing, but his gradual introduction to the world of being a pet dog is charming and touching.  I found this book hard to put down.  The narrative from the two different points of view was fascinating and added to the pace of the story.  You’ll find yourself routing for the initially extremely unlikeable character of Adam March and for the tough dog with the rough beginning.

Entertaining, moving, and heartwarming, fans of dog memoirs, or pet memoirs in general, will thoroughly enjoy this book.

I’m giving away one copy of this book to one lucky reader.  For a chance to win, please leave a comment telling me why you want to win this book .  For an extra chance to win, tweet about the giveaway or share on Facebook and post the link in a separate comment.  This giveaway ends Friday, April 30.

Blog Anniversary Giveaway Winner

Congratulations, AngieZ. – you’re the winner
of our anniversary gift basket!

Look for an e-mail from The Conscious Cat.

Thank you to all who entered, tweeted, shared on Facebook, and subscribed, and thank you again for all the good wishes!

Blog Anniversary and Giveaway

It’s our First Blog Anniversary!

The Conscious Cat is one year old today!   And what an amazing year it has been – a year ago, I couldn’t have imagined how quickly this blog would become popular and how fast our readership would be growing since our first post.  Thank you to all of you who read, comment, and share what you read here with others – this site wouldn’t be what it has become without your support. 

I started The Conscious Cat to share my passion and knowledge about conscious living, health and happiness for pets and their people.  Over time, I began to include book reviews, author interviews, feline lifestyle articles, and more.  Amber, the inspiration behind this site, has her own category, Amber’s Mewsings, where she shares her feline wisdom with us mere humans.

We’ll be celebrating here all week long!  To kick off the celebration, we’re offering a fabulous giveaway – a gift basket from Whimsy Cats that includes an autographed copy of Buckley’s Story and lots of fun surprises for your feline family members.

To enter the giveaway:

  • Leave a comment on this post.
  • Tweet about this giveaway or share it on Facebook for an additional chance to win and leave the link to your tweet/share in a separate comment.
  • Subscribe to The Conscious Cat via  e-mail.  If you’re already subscribed, you’re automatically entered in the giveway.
  • Blog about this giveaway on your blog and leave the link in a separate comment.

The giveaway is open until midnight Monday, March 15.

Our birthday week celebrations continue tomorrow with an announcement of some exciting new things coming to you from The Conscious Cat.   On Wednesday, we’ll have a very special guest blogger.  And of course, our birthday week celebration wouldn’t be complete without Amber’s Mewsings on Friday.  We hope you enjoy our birthday week!

Giveaway: Animal Magnetism

The Conscious Cat is giving away one copy of Animal Magnetism by Rita Mae Brown.  In Brown’s own words, “much of what I am is a result of a life with and close to animals.”  These words perfectly capture the spirit of this book.   In this heartwarming and often funny collection, Brown shares stories of the animals that touched her life.  Click here to read my review of this book.

To enter, please leave a comment letting me know why you’d like to win this book.  One comment per person, please.  For an additional chance to win,  you can blog, tweet or share on Facebook about this giveaway and leave the link in a comment.  The deadline for entering the giveaway is Sunday, January 24.  Good luck!

Giveaway: The Complete Guide to Holistic Cat Care

Holistic Cat Care

The Conscious Cat is starting 2010 with a giveaway!  And to start the new year off on a healthy note for your cat, I’m giving away one copy of The Complete Guide to Holistic Cat Care by Celeste Yarnall, Ph.D. and Jean Hofve, D.V.M.  This comprehensive guide to holistic cat care covers topics such as natural nutrition, preventive medicine, natural remedies, hands on healing, and more.  The book is beautifully illustrated.  Click here to read my review of this book

To enter, please leave a comment letting me know why you’d like to win this book.  One comment per person, please.  For an additional chance to win,  you can blog, tweet or share on Facebook about this giveaway and leave the link in a comment.  The deadline for entering the giveaway is Sunday, January 10.  Good luck!